Supreme Court extends deadline for Aadhaar linking to March 31

The five judge Constitution Bench of the Supreme Court of India comprising the Chief Justice of India, Dipak Misra and Justices A. K. Sikri, A. M. Khanwilkar, D. Y. Chandrachud, and Ashok Bhushan today passed an order extending the deadline for the linkage of Aadhaar number to all government service and schemes to 31st March, 2018. This extension is also applicable to State Governments.

The date for the completion of the E- KYC process in respect of mobile phone subscribers has been extended until 31 March 2018. In case of new bank accounts, submission of the application number for Aadhar shall suffice, where the account holder does not have an Aadhaar number.

The Court also made it clear that as regards linking of Aadhaar and PAN as provided for by Section 139AA of the Income Tax Act, 1961, the same shall be governed by the judgment of this Court in Binoy Visman v. Union of India.

On Thursday, the Court heard several advocates such as Shyam Divan, Gopal Subramanium, K. T. S. Tulsi, Anand Grover, Arvind Datar, K. V. Vishwanathan, Meenakashi Arora, Sajan Poovayya, Sanjay Hegde and Prashant Bhushan for the petitioners and Attorney General K. K. Venugopal, Aryama Sundaram and Rakesh Dwivedi for the Respondents.

The Petitioners had challenged the validity of the 139 notifications issued by the government by the Centre, making Aadhaar mandatory for various benefits and services. They had also argued that Aadhaar linking with bank accounts and other schemes was a violation of the right to privacy, which was declared to be a fundamental right by a 9 judge constitution bench earlier this year.

The Respondents, on the other hand had argued that Aadhaar only seeks to establish the identity of an individual, and no other information about the individual is shared. The court, thereafter, reserved the case for orders today, 15th December, 2017. Read more on Thursday’s hearing here.

The Supreme Court has fixed final arguments in the case to start from January 17th, 2018.

Read the order below:



Facebook Comments